Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences (FAFS)
FAFS Celebrates Class of 2016 in Annual Graduate Reception



The Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences at AUB celebrated the achievements of its graduating students and awardees in the annual FAFS Graduate Reception held on May 19, 2016 at Charles Hostler Auditorium and Terrace.

In her welcome statement, Dr. Nahla Hwalla, Dean, FAFS, congratulated the graduating class, their families and friends emphasizing that the graduation of the class of 2016 is truly a special occasion highlighting that this year “we celebrate the 150th  Anniversary of AUB, and YOU, dear graduates, are celebrated as the graduating class of this great year in AUB’s history: the University’s 150th year of making a difference, 150th year of serving the region, 150th year of extraordinary achievements, 150th year of excellence!”. She proudly stated the outstanding achievements of the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences this year that continue to reaffirm its title as the Faculty of Firsts.

The Master of Ceremony, Dr. Ali Chalak, Associate Professor, Department of Agriculture, then introduced this year's honorary speaker, Mr. Albert Tehoumey (Board Member and CFO, Crepaway Holding; and MTV TV Host). Mr. Tehoumey’s speech was exceptionally eloquent, as he addressed students of his beloved alma mater. “I can tell you a little bit about things that matter at the end of the day. Not your parents. Not your friends, pets, house, favorite shoes or gadget. But You. You are all that matters because everything else is space, noise.” He added, "Dean Hwalla made reference to leading figures who like you, graduated from AUB and made it big in the world. Ambition may and should drive you to strive and become the next prodigy.”

Dean Hwalla recognized the continuous hard work, commitment and dedication of the FAFS faculty and staff throughout the year. She then distributed the FAFS 2016 awards (listed below).
The event was followed by a cocktail reception where faculty, students, friends, and family enjoyed a delightful evening with a warm atmosphere that brought the FAFS community together.

This year's recipients of the FAFS Awards were:

  • Edgecombe Memorial Prize: Ms. Lara El Gemayel
  • Kashadurian Award: Ms. Karin Manja
  • Joana Haidar Award: Mr. Vicken Aknadibossian
  • Dean Nuhad Dagher FAFS Graduate Student Award: Mr. Roger Mazloum
  • Dean Thomas Sutherland Prize for Graduate Excellence: Ms. Patil Tawidian
  • Dean Thomas Sutherland Award for Undergraduate Excellence & Penrose Award: Ms. Karin Manja
  • Abdul Hadi Debs Endowment Award for Academic Excellence: Ms. Patil Tawidian

Congratulations to all awardees and the FAFS class of 2016!




Contact us Jobs Disclaimer Copyright Non-Discrimination/Title IX