American Univesity of Beirut

New AUB Alumni Association (AAA) cabinet assumes office

​​Office of Communications,​

A new Alumni Association of AUB (AAA) cabinet, which was elected by acclamation, has taken office upon the approval of the Lebanese Ministry of Interior.

AAA, which was founded in 1910, is AUB's and Lebanon's oldest and largest alumni association. The new cabinet includes the following members: Firas Nazih Bou Diab (MEN '05), Abdallah S. Darwiche (BEN '75), Mark-Aram H. Demirjian (BBA '99, MMB '03), Rula Douaidy (BBA '80), Karam Doumet (BBA '78, MBA '80), Salah M. Harake (BA '64), Nakhle E. Hashim (BEN '87), Nader Rabah Jaber (BBA '07), Malek S. Mahmassani (BArch '66), Darine Badri Najem (BS '01, MPH '03), Akram Saab (BEN '68), Amer Ibrahim Suleiman (Abou Taam) (BS '91), and Farid Ramzi Talih (BS '97, MD '01).​​


At it​s first meeting, the new cabinet elected the members of the AAA managing board: Hisham Jaroudi (BArch '66), president; George Azar (BS '74, BEN '78), deputy to the president; Mona Jeha Kanaan (BA '60), secretary; and Nour Bitar Hajj (BBA '07, MBA '12), treasurer. Jaroudi is a distinguished philanthropist, trustee emeritus, former alumni trustee (2015-18), and was interim president of the Worldwide Alumni Association of the American University of Beirut (WAAAUB) between November 2017 and March 2019. In 2014, he received the WAAAUB Ambassador at Large Award.

The AAA elections followed the conclusion of a cooperation agreement between WAAAUB and AAA in June 2018.

“It is a sincere pleasure and source of great pride to head this distinguished association," said Jaroudi. “It has been a successful election process that has come after many years. We are happy to see things move forward. I look forward to working closely with AUB, our alma mater." ​

A reception will be held soon to welcome and introduce the new AAA members and leadership.

Contact Us

For various questions, please try contacting us via social media first!
read more

Privacy Statement

We take data privacy seriously and adhere to all applicable data privacy laws and regulations.
read more

Copyright and Disclaimer

Written permission is needed to copy or disseminate all or part of the materials on the AUB website.
read more

Title IX, Non-Discrimination, and Anti-Discriminatory Harassment

AUB is committed to providing a safe, respectful, and inclusive environment to all members of its community.
read more